Monday 30 January 2017

Meditation -4


There are two types of meditation - Active and Passive.

Active meditation relates to activities of everyday life such as walking, working, eating etc. This in fact is the aim of Yoga, to experience a meditative state in everyday life which has the effect of increasing performance manifold as the work is done with more efficiency and energy.

To achieve active meditation, passive meditation is required which involves taking time out to be seated and perform Meditation Techniques or practices. This is called passive as it involves withdrawing ourselves in calm, sitting postures to achieve a meditative state that can help us in our active life. The aim of all passive meditation techniques is to still the mind from wavering and distracting thoughts and gradually make one pointed. Passive Meditation Techniques though of many kinds, essentially have the same modus of operandi:

Stage 1: Introversion: Involves seating postures and awareness on an object. This has the effect of calming the mind and making it 'receptive' to see what's inside.

Stage 2: Introversion leads to the free flow of thoughts, visions, complexes, memories etc. from the lower mind. Our passions, fears, doubts and desires arise and we are now in a position to observe these and remove the undesirable content from our minds forever.

Stage 3: Having observed the lower mind, we are now in a position to explore the subconscious realms. It is here that real meditation begins. Our limitless storehouse of energy and knowledge starts manifesting itself.

Stage 4: Self realization: As these stages are transcended, supreme bliss is attained. There are many mediation methods known today. Some are best for beginners; others are better tackled after a few years of experience.

No comments:

Post a Comment